How do I restrict time entry to only assigned persons?

 

A new selection has been added to all work that will allow a user with specific permissions to change whether or not time entry for that work should be restricted to only persons assigned to the work. The yes or no option can be accessed via the Details section of the Summary page or via a column selection in Project Central. This new option will default to the No selection when deployed and can be changed to Yes by users that have the newly created Project Time Control permission.

Once it is set to "Yes" there can be no additional time entered on the work by persons that are not assigned to the work. If there is any existing time on the time it can be edited and approved, however no additional time will be allowed. This would also be true if a timesheet is not approved or unapproved. This article describes how to restrict time entry to only persons that are assigned to work.

To view a brief tutorial video please scroll to the bottom of this article.

1. Locate Project

  1. Navigate to the Summary page of the work where you want to update time entry settings.
  2. Click Edit.

2. Click Restrict time entry to assignees

  1. Click Restrict time entry to assignees, select Yes.
  2. Click Save Changes.

Note: When this new feature is deployed the Restrict time entry to assignees option will default to a No setting where the Object Type is also set to Yes for Timesheets. If the Timesheet settings for an Object Type are set to No, this change will not impact the work.

2.1. Permission for Allow Time Entry

Permission for Allow Time Entry
  • The ability to update the Allow time entry setting is dependent on the user having the Project Time Control permission. This permission is part of the Project Tasks collection of permissions verbs. Contact your PowerSteering administrator if you think this is a permission you need have.

Note: Project Task is a replaceable term in PowerSteering. Your organization may use a different label to represent project tasks on your site.

3. Scroll Page

  • Use the scroll bar to view the resource section at the bottom of the Edit Details page. If the Restrict time entry to assignees is set to Yes, only the persons listed under the All Team Members display will be able to enter time against this work.

4. Click Timesheets

Click Timesheets
  • Click the User menu, select Timesheets.

5. Select Work Items

  • Click a field in the Work Items column to add to your timesheet.

6. Search for Work

Search for Work
  • View the work that is available for selection. Work that is grayed out is unavailable for selection because you are either not an assigned resource or the work is not enabled for time entry.

7. Locate Project

  1. Navigate to the Summary page of the work where you want to update time entry settings.
  2. Click Edit.

8. Click Restrict time entry to assignees

  1. Click Restrict time entry to assignees, select No.
  2. Click Save Changes.

9. Click Timesheets

Click Timesheets
  • Click the User menu, select Timesheets.

10. Select Work Items

  • Click a field in the Work Items column to add to your timesheet.

11. Search for Work

Search for Work
  • View the work that is available for selection. Work that is grayed out is unavailable for selection because you are either not an assigned resource or the work is not enabled for time entry.

12. Navigate to Project Central

13. Click Columns

Click Columns
  1.    Click Columns, click the context sensitive arrow next to Controls.
  2.    Select the Restrict time entry to assignees check box.

14. Click Restrict time entry to assignees

Click Restrict time entry to assignees
  • Click a cell in the Restrict time entry to assignees column, select an option to indicate if time entry should be restricted to only those persons assigned to the work.
  • Click Save.

15. View Updated Information

  • View the updated information, time entry has been restricted to only those persons assigned where a Yes appears in the Restrict time entry to assignees column.

Note: You can also update information in Project Central using the bulk edit feature. See the article How do I use the bulk edit feature? for more information.

16. View Video Tutorial

  •    View this short informational video about how time entry can be restricted to only those users assigned to work.

0 Comments

Add your comment

E-Mail me when someone replies to this comment